facebook youtube instagram

ECB Annual Photography Award 2006: Austria Today

24.01.2007 - 11.02.2007


Since 2004 the European Central Bank issues invitations to take part in a photo competition in which every year a different EU country is spotlighted. At the same time that country is host for the annual European Central Bank days of culture. Promising young talents up to the age of 35 are called on to make a photographic portrait of their country.

The submitted works are judged by an international jury that decides on the
10 finalists and the three winners of the ECB Annual Photography Award with total prizes of € 7.000.-.

With the submissions made to the competition from the various members of the EU, it is intended to build up a collection of contemporary photography over the years that reflects the cultural wealth of Europe from the perspective of younger artists. After Poland (2004) and Hungary (2005), Austria was the subject of the competition in 2006. The photo series of the prize winners and finalists can be seen in Westlicht from January 24th till February 11th 2007:

Gerlinde Miesenböck ( 1st prize), Tatiana Lecomte (2nd prize), Paul Kranzler (3rd prize), Ditz Fejer, Karin Großauer, Ernst Koslitsch, Markus Krottendorfer, Gerburg Neunteufl, Tina Ribarits and Stefan Wanka.

Austria Today - captured by young photographers. People, landscapes, atmospheres, clichés: images that document, manipulate, provoke...






© Gerlinde Miesenböck: from the series "Death of the countryside" (1st prize)
© Gerlinde Miesenböck: from the series "Death of the countryside" (1st prize)
© Tatjana Lecomte: from the series "Parachute Wall" (2nd prize)
© Paul Kranzler: from the series "Country Youth / Thomas R." (3rd prize)
© Ditz Fejer: from the series "Austria Today - Well-known from film and TV"
© Karin Grossauer: from the series "Hot meals all day long"
© Stefan Wanka: from the series "The Austrian Identity. Austrian Reality. We are President"
© Ernst Koslitsch: from the series "Journey, Journey"
© Markus Krottendorfer: from the series "Portraits - Philipp Quehenberger, 2005"
© Tina Ribarits: untitled
© Gerburg Neunteufel: from the series "Car Dwellers"